Linking Secondlife to technical communication

I’ve been wondering for a while how/if Secondlife could be used as a medium for technical communicators. Yesterday I received an email that illustrated one way of using it. It said:

“DITA User Meeting at Secondlife. Join us today at the DITA Chat-Meeting in Secondlife. Today Tuesday again at
9:00 – 10:00 am PT/PDT
12:00 – 1:00 pm ET/EDT
6:00 – 7:00 pm CET/CEDT

SIM Address at Secondlife: Addicted to Reality 13, 27, 24
Explore the new way of meetings.”

I suppose it makes a change from a traditional conference call.

There are a number of organisations I know that are using Secondlife to market/advertise there services. Could it also, I wonder, be used to deliver training seminars?

2 Comments

Laura Jaffrey

Hi, your post interested me as a technical communicator and 2nd lifer from Canada. Keep up the great work overseas – you are an inspiration to my business. Might bump into you in 2nd life. Cheers

Char

Neil Perlin wrote about this in the June issue of Intercom (STC).

My husband is a 2nd lifer, and I’ve been wondering for the last month or two if a Second Life SIG would work…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.